And Now, A Poem…

I just had to share this beautiful poem that I stumbled upon on hellopoetry.com by Benjamin Valenzuela. The way that this poem is structured is wonderful, and I find a lot of truth in it. I hope that you enjoy it as much as I did… Happy Saturday!

Timelines

its been
moments since I thought about you
in any capacity
minutes since
I remembered some portion of our story
hours since I felt anger
days since I tried to pick up my phone
weeks since I last contacted you
months since we last touched.

its been

months since you crushed me
weeks since I put on the brave face
days since I longed for you
hours since I spoke of you
minutes of starring into a blank screen
silently pleading
moments before all this is behind me again.

It’ll be

Moments of weakness
when I think about “us”
Minutes of silent cursing
while you run through my mind
Hours of rationalizing
before I let it go
Days of depression

I know

Weeks of emotions crammed into a few minutes
Months of self doubt and insanity

Soon it’ll be

years

But I’ll always have

the

tears.

Benjamin Valenzuela

Here’s a link to the original: http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/A9elNL/:1_n@zBPVC:I_hO-ros/hellopoetry.com/poem/timelines/

About spreadamor

I want to spread love far and wide

Leave a Reply

