An Open Letter to the Pity Party

PITY PARTY

Dear Pity Party,

I’ll admit it, I’ve attended a few of your functions in my life. Sometimes I would literally feel like the most miserable person in the world. The words my life sucks bouncing around me like a million droplets of water, leaving me soaked and miserable in their wake. But you know what? After a good crying session and maybe a pint of Ben and Jerry’s, you come to realize that, it’s really not that bad. No matter what your situation is, there is always somebody who has it worse.

That might sound bad. Like, oh I need somebody else to be worse off than me to make myself feel better. That’s not what I mean. Sometimes when you see another persons misery, the extent of their problems, you simply realize that yours aren’t so bad. It’s all about perspective.

And not to go into a rant, but I’ll go into a small rant; sigh. I’m so tired of hearing the same crap from the same people about how they’re not happy with their lives but then making no effort whatsoever to change it. They go on and on about how they are bored and tired of the same shit, but make no more effort to change their situation than to simply see what else is on TV. You can’t expect to change things when you keep living the exact same way you always have. You have to do something different. You HAVE to change your mindset.

If you really want something, you have to go out and fight for it. Even if you’re at a disadvantage.

Dayton Webber, 11, wrestles even though he has no arms or legs. He had a bacterial infection as an infant that led to his limbs being cut off.

You can’t let anyone or anything get in your way.

2565475435_e8db643fdf_o

I mean, no one ever said that it would be easy, but the end result is worth it every time.

white_2660528b

I know that things are tough all around, and that we are all fighting in this battle of life. But we have to be able to put things in perspective and look at the bigger picture. We won’t always be here. One day, we will all die. Yup. It’s true. Deal with it. We have to be able to come to terms with this fact and realize how truly precious our time here is. We have to make the most of things.

3-simple-things

So I say to you, dear pity party. I will not be attending your functions anymore. I refuse to surround myself with your self-loathing kind. I have things to do, goals to accomplish, a wonderful life to live. When you decide to do the same, I’ll be waiting.

You can’t lead a positive life with a negative mind.

Much love,

Spread Amor

About spreadamor

I want to spread love far and wide

Leave a Reply

